Hide menu

New degree structure

During the 2007 academic year, Swedish higher education institutions are switching to a new degree structure that fully conforms with the Bologna Process, a Europe-wide standardisation drive for higher education. For Linköping University the new degree structure applies from 3 July 2007.

The new degree structure creates three levels of higher education – a first level, second level, and third level, each with minimum requirements for entry.

Degrees awarded at each level are defined in terms of the expected results and abilities of students (“learning outcomes”). Higher education institutions should specify objectives for all courses at the first and second levels, describing the student’s expected learning outcomes at the conclusion of the course. This clarifies the knowledge each student is expected to possess at the end of the course in order to pass the course.

Sweden is also introducing a new credit system, “högskolepoäng” (higher education credits), which replaces the old Swedish system and which is compatible with the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) credit system.

Under the new Swedish system, one academic year of full-time studies is equivalent to 60 higher education credits. Forty old Swedish credit points will after the switch equal 60 new higher education credits (and 60 ECTS).


Page manager: therese.winder@liu.se
Last updated: 2009-06-03